Books we looove - courtesy of Pocket Shop

Pocket Shop prides itself on having knowledgable staff with a genuine love of books! Established as an independent bookseller in Sweden in 1989, Pocket Shop maintains a vision of giving everybody the opportunity to own and experience books. 

Here you'll find their top 10 book recommendations for 2016! There's something for everyone so make sure you drop into the store whilst you're flying through Birmingham Airport and pick up a new book to add to your collection.

You'll find the very purple store in the South departure lounge.

"It's not me, it's you" by Mhairi McFarlane - Recommended by Jenny

If you’re looking for something ’laugh out loud’ funny that just makes you smile, this book is perfect! When Delia proposes to her boyfriend, she finds out he hasn’t exactly been loyal. Not knowing what to do, she moves to London and starts a new job. This really is a feel good at its best, following Delia while she tries to deal with life and the trouble she gets herself in. Perfect for the beach, plane or anywhere if you want a good laugh. 

"Shantaram" by Gregory David Roberts - Recommended by Jenny

Summer holidays are the best time of year to tackle a big book like this one because you can devote enough time to get through the 900 pages! The story takes you to Bombay (Mumbai) India, where you follow an Australian prison breakout trying to make a living. The book is all about the people he meets and the situations he gets himself into. Roberts does an amazing job setting the scene – you really do smell all the spices from the markets. If you like adventures and literary novels, you will most likely devour this book.

"The Girls" by Emma Cline - Recommended by Jenny

Cline's debut novel had me intrigued from the first page. It’s about Evie who as a young woman, ends up joining a group of girls in northern California in the 1960's. As she gets closer to the group of girls and their leader of sorts, Russell, she experiences new things and ends up joining their cult. It's a well written coming-of-age novel, based on true events and a book that is hard to put down. 

Book recommendations

"I am Pilgrim" by Terry Heyes - Recommended by Jenny

Yet another great debut novel. A terrorist who's trying to spread a death virus, a murder in Manhattan and a hunt around the globe. Pilgrim, a CIA agent whose identity is only known by two other people, sets of to stop the terrorist, but where on the globe is he hiding? This story will keep you on the edge of your seat, leaving you wanting to read yet another chapter...Perfect for fans of John Grisham and Lee Child. 

"A Man Called Ove" by Fredrik Backman - Recommended by Jenny

Oh how I enjoyed this book. Ove is a bitter middle aged man, thinking that there's no order anymore. He doesn't want to live after the death of his wife. Then a new family moves in next door, and everything changes! You will laugh and cry while reading this. It's heartbreaking and yet so hopeful. 

"Love From Paris" by Alexandra Potter - Recommended by Therese

When Ruby gets dumped at the airport she flees to her friend in Paris, under the impression that love is dead. But when she finds a bunch of love letters written in the 1930’s, hidden in an abandoned apartment, an adventure in the name of love begins!  War, broken hearts, epic love and a glittering Paris, this book is an absolute gem! 

Book recommendations

"Inferno" by Dan Brown - Recommended by Therese 

Harvard Professor Robert Langley wakes up in a hospital in Florence with a head injury. He has no idea how he got there, and his memory from the last couple of days seems mysteriously wiped from his mind. As usual, nothing is what it seems, and Professor Langley is once again pulled into a mind boggling world of old prophecies and medieval clues. A race to save the world from a plague begins, but will Langley find all the pieces of the puzzle in time? This is Dan Browns fourth book in his series about Professor Robert Langley, and it will soon be a major motion picture. Read it before you see the movie.

"The Rosie Project" by Graeme Simsion - Recommended by Therese

Don Tillman is a professor of genetics and and all-round socially awkward man. He lives by schedules and has never seen himself as the relationship-type. But now he has decides that he wants to get married, he just doesn’t know to whom yet. She has to be a non smoker, non drinker and most importantly, love schedules. Then Rosie turns up and she is the complete opposite. What could go wrong? This is a super charming, romantic and slightly different feel-good book. I absolutely loved it! 

"Armada" by Ernerst Cline - Recommended by Therese

This is a fantastically nerdy space adventure for anyone who loves an epic saga between good and bad. Zach Lightman is a high school student and a gamer. His favorite game is Armada - a flight simulator where you protect earth from alien invaders. One day in school he looks out the window from his classroom and thinks he has gone mad. Outside is one of the spaceships from his game, hovering in mid air. Buckle yourself in and prepare for an adventure! 

"The Little Shop of Happy Ever After" by Jenny Colgan - Recommended by Therese

I LOVE Jenny Colgan. Warm, romantic and super cozy - this book has everything you need to lift your spirits! In this book we get to know Nina who works at a library in Birmingham, and absolutely loves it. But when she suddenly gets fired, she has to start figuring out what’s next. She has always had a dream of owning a little bookshop on a bus. When an advert in the newspaper for a van in the Scottish highlands catches her eye, a new adventure begins. 

Book Flights Book Parking